top of page

Introduction to BSI BS 25999 and ISO 22301 compliance framework.

Certainly! BSI BS 25999 and ISO 22301 are standards that provide a framework for Business Continuity Management (BCM). These standards guide organizations in developing and implementing effective business continuity plans to ensure the resilience of critical business functions in the face of disruptions, emergencies, or disasters. Here's a brief overview:

BSI BS 25999:

BSI BS 25999 was the British standard for business continuity management before being superseded by ISO 22301. BS 25999 consisted of two parts:

  1. Part 1: BS 25999-1 - Code of Practice:

  • This part focused on providing guidance for developing and implementing a business continuity management system.

  • It outlined the key principles, processes, and terminology for effective business continuity planning.

  1. Part 2: BS 25999-2 - Specification:

  • This part provided a detailed specification for a business continuity management system.

  • It included requirements for establishing, implementing, monitoring, reviewing, and improving an organization's business continuity capabilities.

ISO 22301:

ISO 22301 is the international standard for business continuity management, published by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). It has replaced and essentially absorbed BSI BS 25999. ISO 22301 outlines the requirements for a systematic and effective Business Continuity Management System (BCMS). Here are key aspects:

  1. Scope:

  • ISO 22301 applies to all types and sizes of organizations, regardless of the industry or sector.

  • Its focus is on ensuring that organizations can continue critical activities during and after disruptive events.

  1. Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) Cycle:

  • ISO 22301 follows the PDCA cycle for continual improvement.

  • Organizations are required to plan for business continuity, implement and operate the BCMS, monitor and review its performance, and continually improve based on the findings.

  1. Key Components:

  • Context of the Organization: Understanding the organization's external and internal context that can impact business continuity.

  • Leadership and Commitment: Top management's commitment to and involvement in ensuring the effectiveness of the BCMS.

  • Risk Assessment and Treatment: Identifying potential threats and vulnerabilities, assessing their impact, and implementing measures to mitigate risks.

  • Incident Response and Business Continuity Plans: Developing plans to respond to incidents and maintain or restore critical business functions.

  • Monitoring and Performance Evaluation: Regularly monitoring and measuring performance to ensure the BCMS's effectiveness.

  1. Benefits:

  • Implementing ISO 22301 helps organizations enhance their resilience, reduce the likelihood of disruptions, and minimize the impact of incidents.

  • It instills confidence among stakeholders, including customers, partners, and regulators, by demonstrating a commitment to business continuity.

  1. Certification:

  • Organizations can undergo a certification process to demonstrate compliance with ISO 22301 standards.

  • Certification is often sought by organizations to assure stakeholders of their commitment to business continuity.

In summary, ISO 22301 provides a systematic and comprehensive approach to business continuity management, ensuring that organizations are well-prepared to handle disruptions and continue critical operations. It emphasizes a proactive and risk-based approach, helping organizations build resilience in an ever-changing business environment.

14 views0 comments


bottom of page